DaVinci Institute Announces 2016 Awardees


The DaVinci Institute® is honoring five Oklahoma professors, one Oklahoma A+ Schools® teacher and five student teachers for their creative endeavors at the Oklahoma History Center on April 1, 2016.

The mission of the DaVinci Institute is to create a statewide creative renaissance through lectures, workshops, professional development, research and advocacy. The vision of the DaVinci Institute is to improve the quality of education in Oklahoma so as to help Oklahomans carry their creative, innovative talents to the world.

Keynote speaker Mr. Scott Meacham, former State Treasurer and current CEO of I2E | Innovation to Enterprise, will speak on “Education for Innovation.”

The DaVinci Fellows award for faculty is based on the premise that creative thought and insight are fundamental components of extraordinary scholarship and teaching across all academic disciplines.  DaVinci Fellow awards include a medal embossed with Leonardo DaVinci’s Vitruven Man and $1000.

Additionally, the DaVinci Institute will recognize five DaVinci Scholars, undergraduate students who are preparing to teach in Oklahoma and who have demonstrated creativity, academic achievement and a commitment to teaching.  Students will receive $1000 in their first year of teaching.

2016 Oklahoma A+ Schools® Teacher of the Year

Jennifer Burris, an Oklahoma A+ Schools® teacher at Harding Fine Arts Academy in Oklahoma City.

2016 DaVinci Fellows:

Lee Brasuell, Assistant Professor of Design, Oklahoma State University

John de Banzie, Professor of Biology, Northeastern State University

Bryan Duke, Assistant Dean and Director of Educator Preparation, University of Central Oklahoma

Bea Keller-Dupree,  Associate Professor of School Counseling, Northeastern State University

Sarah Kyle, Associate Professor of Humanities, University of Central Oklahoma

2016 DaVinci Scholars

Julia Davidoff – St. Gregory’s University

Grace Ferry – St. Gregory’s University

Natalie Jennings – University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma

Jami Mumford – University of Central Oklahoma

Samantha Reed – University of Central Oklahoma

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *